Dear Neighbour

I am sorry that my children disturbed you last night.  I can appreciate that being tired makes you act irrationally, believe me I have a lot of experience with this.  I’m sure you realise that banging on the wall neither stops them from crying or helps to get them back to sleep.  Previously you have commented that you don’t like being woken in the night, neither do I and if there was a solution I would have done it.

I know that living next door to a young child often involves experiencing some of the worst parts of parenthood without experiencing any of the joys.  When we moved into this house the boy next door was a baby, every night for many years I was woken over and over by a crying child and fighting parents (about who would deal with him).  I wore earplugs for 5 years, can I suggest (if you don’t already) that you wear some too; I can recommend a good make.  If this does not work how about moving into your empty bedroom?

I have done my fair share of wall banging over the years; through the all night parties, rhythmically squeaking mattresses and a neighbour and the bloke she picked up that night singing Peter Andre and Katie Price’s version of ‘a whole new world’ at 3am and the moaning that followed but a crying child for three years did not warrant a bang on the wall.  However your cockerel that wakes everyone in the early hours…

doublethecuddles.wordpress.com

Watching more tolerant neighbours

So that you do not think we have not considered you I would like to just make you aware of the measures we have taken to try and limit disturbance.  When I found out I was having twins we looked for a new house that had the twin’s bedroom on an outside wall, unfortunately we did not find the right house before I was too heavily pregnant, I am sorry for that.  When they have been ill or gone through long periods of night waking one has slept in the lounge or our bedroom for weeks on end to prevent disturbance to the other and our neighbours.  When the twins wake in the night we deal with one each so no one is left crying but sometimes even when we are there it takes some time to find a solution.  We have spent many hours rocking and cuddling, have co-slept with white noise, wave noise, whale noise, nursery rhymes, star projections, stories, milk, medicine…TV (cringe!).    When the twins had tonsillitis one night I rocked M from 7pm-4am (without dinner) while she cried, believe me if there was a solution…

Having twins is a wonderful experience but brings daily challenges and toddler twins while different to babies are no easier.  We do our best.  If after all this you still believe we are at fault, that we could change something, that you could do better, please do, I dare you!

Yours sincerely,

Frustrated and exhausted twin parents

One thought on “Dear Neighbour

  1. A few people have asked us what outcome we got from the letter. Just wanted to clarify that the letter was never written to be sent. We as usual said nothing and continue to strive to be good neighbours.

    Like

Leave a Reply

