G is for Guts!…

… to say no or not now.  Everyone wants to see your new babies, they just want to pop in, five or ten minutes, they won’t stay long.  All those quick phone calls and visits add up to a lot of time and disturbed sleep and routine.  Before the twins were born my main concern was not the birth but how I was going to cope when I brought home TWO babies, how I would cope after a MAJOR OPERATION to look after them, if my husband would manage to stay calm when my babies were crying and I couldn’t get out of bed quickly.  I didn’t know then I would have had a near death experience to add into the equation (thank goodness!).  On top of all that I was worried that I would have to deal with visitors desperate to see my little ones while we were still trying to adjust, while I was learning to feed them, when we were mentally, emotionally and physically exhausted.  I did say not now to some, I know it was difficult for them to wait, but it was the right thing for me and my little family.

Leave a Reply

