The art of afternoon tea

DSC00345 (2)I’d like to think that in our house we do afternoon tea pretty well.  Being the sort of person that likes to make presents, years ago I started taking trips to car boot sales and charity shops in search of the perfect cups and saucers to make candles in.  At one particular car boot sale I found a really beautiful pale blue commemorative cup and saucer for sale, the lady that sold it to me was horrified at the idea of a candle being put in it and made me promise that it would only be used for tea, well this is where it all started.  IMG_1983Gradually the collection grew and I now have over thirty flowery cups, saucers and side plates, along with a wide variety of teapots, sugar bowls, jugs, cake stands and sandwich plates among other tea related curios.  Occasionally the lucky few pieces are selected for a truly marvellous tea…

Recently E and M were given their own little tea set, I hadn’t even considered that at 19 months (is that how old they are now?) they would know what to do with a tea set but to my surprise they set about pouring tea and stirring in the milk.  Since then they have played with little else.  Occasionally it is not done quite exactly as I might have, there is the occasional addition of an aeroplane or afternoon tea is laid out on the lid of the toilet but generally they play afternoon tea pretty well.  I’d like to think they have learnt a little from me…

IMG_1966

Leave a Reply

